Ask a Builder-How would you build your retirement home?

My retirement home will be a Hemp Home!  I feel a Hemp Home addresses the main issue facing mankind today co2 emissions without sacrificing comfort needed in both energy and lifestyle choices.

To ensure that my retirement income will provide the needed security as I age in place my hemp home will enable me to use natural resources in the building of the energy efficient structure-controlling costs in the build and the future energy costs.

 Taking pointers from the first American Settlers:  I will build my home from the land and use as many natural resources as possible.

I will use stones and rocks in the building of the Rubble Foundation that will support the Hemp Wall Construction.

I will grow and harvest the Hemp needed to build the walls-using Hempcrete-a natural lime based binder.

I plan to use a combination of Post and Beam – Timber Frame Construction techniques.

*

Canadian Solar Panels for electricity

*

Comfort-Sustainability-Natural Resources-Are just 3 areas that critical attention is given to in this sustainable design.

  1. Netzero or better energy production from Solar Panels for electricity needs

  2. Rainwater and Greywater Recycling for water need

  3. Energy Conscious Build Technique

Rainwater and Greywater Recycling

*

Electric Radiant Floor Heating

*

Hempcrete will be utilized in the flooring and walls.

*

Hemp Building addresses the issue that  plagues traditional building techniques when the cost of carbon emissions is factored into the manufacturing process of the needed building materials. Scotty

<

p dir=”ltr” style=”padding-left:30px;”>I’ve been toying around with using the Catalan Vault Construction build technique of Spanish Masons to construct the roof.   [When I watched this youtube video of the Spanish Masons I realized that I can reduce the lumber needed to construct the roof and then by adding a slurry of hempcrete to the top of the roof I will have the strength needed to protect my home from the elements and provided the water barrier needed.]

To be continued- future posts will include: Design Plans, Material Lists, Hemp growing techniques, Hemp Harvesting, Timberframe construction, Hempwall Building, and more.

4 thoughts on “Ask a Builder-How would you build your retirement home?”

Leave a Reply-Scotty will respond asap

